Condominium Management
Regulatory Authority of Ontario


The CMRAO issues four types of licences: three licences for condominium managers and one licence for condominium management provider businesses. The three licences issued for condominium managers are: General Licence, Transitional General Licence and Limited Licence. A Condominium Management Provider Licence is issued to management service provider businesses.

The type of licence that an individual requires depends primarily on their education and experience providing condominium management services. Licensing requirements are set out under the Condominium Management Services Act, 2015 (CMSA), and the General Regulation. Each type of licence is described in full below.

General Licence

An individual who holds a General Licence has obtained prior work experience and education as a condominium manager. Effectively a “full licence,” General Licensees can provide condominium management services without having any supervisory requirements (see Supervisory Requirements).

Transitional General Licence

Like General Licensees, Transitional General Licensees can provide condominium management services without being subject to supervisory requirements.

Limited Licence

Effectively an “entry-level” licence, Limited Licensees can provide condominium management services only under the supervision of a General Licensee or Transitional General Licensee.

Condominium Management Provider Licence

Any business (corporation, partnership, sole proprietor, association or other organization or entity) that provides condominium management services to condominium corporations is required to hold a Condominium Management Provider Licence.

Licence Renewal

All licences issued by the CMRAO expire unless they are renewed annually. The licence year runs from July 1 to June 30 and the deadline to complete the renewal is midnight on June 30. Licensed individuals and providers can continue providing condominium management services as long as renewal applications and annual licensing fees are submitted by the June 30 deadline.